Six Months

Aside from today being awesome because it’s Friday, today is also awesome because……..drumroll………it’s my six-month wedding anniversary! Has it really already been six months? Wow! It’s a strange feeling to be celebrating six months again. Hubs and I have been together just shy of six years, so it’s been a loooooooong time since we celebrated our six-month dating anniversary. {Fun Fact: Hubs got me a guinea pig for our six month dating anniversary…his name was Charles.} So much has already happened in our lives and with our relationship. It feels like we’ve already grown so much! If this is how it feels after six months, I can only imagine how I’ll feel on our one-year anniversary, or five-year, or 25-year.

Needless to say, I feel blessed every day to have my hubby in my life. He’s an incredible man and he takes such good care of me. I thank God every day for him, because I don’t think I could have picked such a great guy on my own! Anywho, in honor of our anniversary, I’ve been reminiscing over some of our wedding pictures. Our photogs {Mike & Julie of J. Smith Innovations – they rock!} did such a good job at capturing all the important moments, as well as those little moments that might have otherwise been missed. Those are my absolute favorite moments – the little ones tucked between all the hustle and bustle.

Now that a decent chunk of time has passed, I thought it’d be fun to share some of my favorite moments from our wedding {accompanied by some of said pictures}. I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoyed reflecting on them.

1. The whole getting-ready process

Weddings take a lot of prep work, and my girls and I were at the salon at 10:00 in the morning, despite the wedding not starting until 7:00 that evening. I literally got to spend a whole day with some of my closest friends while we got our hair and makeup done. What girl wouldn’t love that? There was much talking, laughing, and general goofing off. We had snacks and everything. Having my wedding day start out that way was such a good way to keep me calm.

GettingReady

2. Goofing off with my girls

On a similar note, I couldn’t have had better bridesmaids. They are all such beautiful girls inside and out and I wouldn’t have wanted to surround myself with any other group. We had many funny, dorky, and heart-warming moments that day, but the image below is one of my favorites…it just captures “us”!

Bridesmaids

3. Our First Look

The First Look is a really big moment. You’ve done all this primping and fancying up and then all of a sudden it’s time to unveil {no pun intended} the masterpiece. It felt so good to see hubs and just have a private, candid moment with him. It really dispelled a lot of nerves, and it didn’t hurt that hubs looked ridiculously handsome! What made this moment even more special was that we had our First Look in the same spot we met…in the Student Center at our church. It was an incredibly special moment.

FirstLook

4. Having my family together

There’s one thing you must know: family is WAY important to me, and I heart my family…A LOT. My parents are divorced, so I’ve kind of always had two families. It’s very rare that their paths cross, but on our wedding day, everyone was there. Having that many members from both sides of my family was one of the most special moments of the whole day. I will always cherish that.

Fam

5. The “OMG we just got married” moment

I love this next picture. It was taken right after we walked out of the chapel following the ceremony. Our bridal party and family members were close behind, but for a split second, it was just hubs and me. We looked at each other and laughed, almost like, Did we really just do that?

JustMarried

6. The father/daughter dance

Alright, you got me. I’m a total daddy’s girl. It’s not very often that you get to dance with your dad, especially as you get older. It was so special to me to be able share that one dance with him, the first man I ever loved…just me and my dad, nobody else.

DaddyDance1

7. The DANCING!

I have a confession to make. I SERIOUSLY heart dancing. I’m really not that good at it…not at all. But that’s never stopped me from getting my boogie on! Sometimes I hold back a tiny bit when I dance because I don’t want to make too much of a fool of myself, but on my wedding day, I danced my heart out! I was the bride, so I figured it’d be ok if I made a total fool of myself. What’s the fun of life if you can’t laugh at yourself sometimes?

Dancing1

8. Being married

Cliche as it is, the best part of my wedding day was the fact that I GOT MARRIED! There’s a lot that goes on at a wedding and I think a lot of people who get married these days miss the point of a wedding. As stressful as the planning was and as crazy as the actual wedding day was, at the end of it when hubs and I were sitting in the car on the way to the hotel, we were married, and that couldn’t have made me any happier!

DramaShot

 

Leave a Reply

