Wine Walk: Check!

So this post is a week late, but hey, good things come to those who wait {hey, that rhymed!}. If you’ve been following my blog at all, you may have seen my post a couple weeks ago about my Summer Bucket List. Well, last Thursday I checked the first thing off my list, and it was one of the things I was most looking forward to! I don’t know if any of you have ever been on  a wine walk, but I sure hadn’t. They always looked so fun and I thought it’d be a great way to get some girl time and kick off the summer!

Unfortunately, even though it was the first day of May {which in my mind = summer}, it was COLD! Not like Oh, it’s a little chilly out today but a full on Do I need to put on a heavier coat? kind of cold. Inclement weather aside, my friend Amy and I were determined to have a good time. The wine walk we went to was at the Shops at One Nineteen, for those of you familiar with the Johnson County {KS} area. There were four restaurants that were participating, but we only made it to three. I don’t know how you’re supposed to get to all of them in such a short amount of time! I mean, each place gives you three wines plus food, and you don’t exactly want to throw back all your wine…that would kind of defeat the purpose.

Nonetheless, we still had fun at the three restaurants we did make it to. It was so fun to just chat over wine and appetizers…I really needed some girl time! Below are some pictures of the night. {As always, please excuse the cellphone-quality photos…the last ones are especially bad because the restaurant was so dark.}

20140501_180726

Vino numero uno from Sullivan’s Steakhouse. It was one of my faves! In fact, it was so good that I forgot to take pics of the other two wines from this restaurant…oops!

20140501_180734

Some sort of appetizer from Sullivan’s. Not sure what it even was, but it was SO good.

20140501_193109

Three Spanish wines from La Bodega. The rose and the verdejo {the white} were my favorites! No food here…sad day.

20140501_200519

Restaurant number three – Drunken Fish. The wine on the right was a plum wine…very different and unexpected, but I loved it! The riesling was good as well

20140501_203559

We decided to order some real food at Drunken Fish {as opposed to the free appetizers}. These dumplings were probably some of the best I’ve had!

20140501_203822

We also decided to be brave and try sake! Luckily they had flavored ones to make it go down a little better. I got pineapple.

IMG_1254

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

