Positivity

Boy, yesterday was a Monday, wasn’t it? I mean, there are Mondays, and then there MONDAYS. Yesterday was the latter. It all started when I forgot to turn the crockpot on before I left for work. I’m awful at remembering to do this. I really think they need to make crockpots that talk to you; that way, if you start to leave without turning it on, it’ll say, “Ummmm, hello? Forgetting something?” But alas, I must rely on my woeful short-term memory. The particularly bad part about yesterday was that I remembered to take the crockpot out of the refrigerator, but then I forgot to turn it on. I didn’t realize it until I had gotten a decent distance from my house, but nevertheless I turned around and raced home to turn it on. I wasn’t about to let all that food go to waste!

Anyway, the rest of my day proceeded pretty similarly to how it started. Stressful projects at work, computer programs crashing in the middle of a project, not having anything for lunch…you get the idea. One of the biggest disappointments of yesterday, though, was some unfortunate news we got.

Let me back up for a minute though. For those of you who don’t know {and we haven’t told many yet}, hubs and I are looking for a house! Exciting, right? We’ve been talking about it for a few months, and we started looking online before Christmas, but we finally took the official leap right after the new year. Since the first day we spoke with our realtor, we’ve basically been non-stop house hunting. When we’re not at work, we’re at home together looking online. We’re out every single weekend looking at houses in person {up to 16 houses in a weekend…yeah, crazy}. My compulsive self is constantly compiling lists of houses we like and don’t like and ones we want to see in person and pros and cons and…whew! Needless to say, house hunting is an exhausting process, and we’ve only been at it about a month.

Well a couple of weeks ago, hubs and I found a house we really liked. It had plenty of space, was completely updated, and only had a few minor problems. It fit pretty much all the criteria on our list. But for whatever reason, we sat on it for awhile. A house is a big purchase, so sometimes you just want to think about it, you know? Well apparently we thought a little too long, because when we finally talked to our realtor about putting in an offer, we discovered the house is now under contract AND they have a backup offer if that one falls through. Grrrrr…

And of course, this news came yesterday, on top of everything else that was making Monday fabulous. I have to admit, I was pretty darn disappointed. I know they say not to fall in love with any houses before it’s a done deal, but that’s hard to do when you find one you really like! This was our first major house hunting setback and I was not a happy camper.

Now, I consider myself a pretty positive person. I’m usually one of those annoying “look on the bright side, give people the benefit of the doubt, the grass is always greener” people, but every once in awhile, life just gets me down. Well, life got me down yesterday. I was disappointed. I was upset. I was irritated at myself for having such hesitations about the house. I was ticked at the person who dared to put an offer on the house we wanted.

I decided to go to Target during my lunch break to help shake off my funk and do some soul searching {because what better place to soul search than a mega-store with the cutest clothing and home goods?}. As I aimlessly wandered the aisles of ridiculously cute yet unnecessary knick knacks, I finally got a grip. This is the first house we really liked, and we missed out. That just means there’s something better out there for us. At least now we have a good idea of what we’re looking for. At least we have the means to afford our own house right now. At least we currently have a roof over our heads while we look for a new house. I mean really, life could be way, way worse.

Once I finally got over myself, I felt a little ashamed for being so dramatic {it was an internal drama, but still…silly and not necessary}. I have a really blessed life, and if my biggest worry right now is choosing the right house to buy, then I’ve got it pretty good. So here I am now, having come full circle, trying to be my positive self again. Sometimes I think it’s good when life gets you down, or at least it is for me. It reminds me to count my blessings. I hope you all have a blessed and positive Tuesday, and remember to keep dancing!

Optimist

One thought on “Positivity

  1. Pingback: The Final Countdown | I Heart All

Leave a Reply

