Free Speech Friday

Happy Friday everybody! You know those news stories that just seem to stick with you? I’m not the most diligent about watching the news, but I at least watch enough to seem like I don’t live under a rock {plus I get a reader’s digest version of the news every morning on the radio}. I’m also not one to share my opinions on said news stories, but every once in a blue moon, I dust off my little soap box and share a word or two. As such, I’m dubbing today “Free Speech Friday.”

Lately, there seems to be one news story that just won’t go away. I see it on TV, they talk about it on the radio, and it’s all over my newsfeed. Yup, you guessed it…it’s Deflate Gate.

Surprised? Were you thinking I would address something else? Perhaps a larger world issue, like the most recent State of the Union address or the omnipresent ISIS threat? No, I’m here to talk about football, because that’s all I hear about on the news. A bit deflating, isn’t it? {See what I did there?}

deflate-gate-patriots-colts-memes-12

Those of you who know me know that I’m a football nut. I mean really, if there’s a game on, I’ll probably watch it regardless of who’s playing {although I’d much rather watch my Chiefs, but beggars can’t be choosers}. So for all you football lovers out there, please know that I’m right there with you and I don’t say this ignorantly or because I don’t care dearly for the best sport in the world. But let me just make my position entirely clear – I don’t think Deflate Gate is that big of a deal.

Just think about it. Out of all the threats and scandals and bad things {and even good things} in the world, we’re choosing to focus on 11 semi-soft footballs. Really? It’s being equated to one of the biggest political scandals in U.S. history {I realize it’s all in jest, but just think about that for a second}.

I know, I know, this is pro football. And for all of the football players out there who are affected by this scandal, I know that this is their livelihood. I know some feel that they need to hold the Patriots accountable, as this isn’t the first time they’ve been associated with shady winning tactics. I know a lot of people out there don’t believe that Tom Brady had nothing to do with it.

For the sake of making a point, I’m choosing not to share my stance on the whole issue, because as I mentioned before, I just really don’t think it’s worth all the media attention it’s been getting. Yes it may have affected the game. Yes, this is the fate of the Super Bowl we’re talking about. Yes it may have helped the Pats or hurt the Colts. But in the end, they all played with the same footballs.

So, here’s what I think we as a football fan base need to do: get over it. To the NFL, if you’re going to punish the Pats, then punish them. People have made their stances and opinions pretty clear, so gather your evidence and come to a consensus so the rest of football nation can move on and look forward to the Super Bowl. We have bigger issues to worry about and bigger joys to celebrate.

Leave a Reply

