Toto, We’re Not in Kansas Anymore…

shutterstock_165407216

Guess who can officially say she’s a homeowner? This girl! {And who can say she now has internet in said new house? This girl again!} I apologize for the brief hiatus…home buying is hard work! Plus, as it turns out, our previous internet provider doesn’t cover our new neighborhood, so we had to find a new internet provider, which took a little while. No internet, no blogging. BUT, operations are back up and running at the NEW casa de Feipel and we couldn’t be happier.

Not going to lie, when we first started our home search, I only wanted to look in Kansas. It’s not that I have anything against Missouri or people who live there. I actually really like Missouri…a lot of my favorite things are in Missouri {the Plaza, the Chiefs, tons of good food} and I have a lot of family that lives in Missouri. But I was born and raised in Kansas, so for whatever reason, I wanted to stick to living in Kansas. Silly, right?

Luckily the hubs talked some sense into me and we started looking at houses across the state line. Within a matter of about two weeks, we had fallen in love with our new house. Funny how that works. I’m still not really used to saying, I live in Missouri, but with time I know I’ll get used to it.

Another reason I wanted to only look in Kansas is because I’m familiar with most of the cities we were looking at. Whether it was Olathe, Shawnee, Overland Park, or whatever, I’m familiar with most of those areas. Stick me out in Lee’s Summit and I have NO CLUE where anything is, other than the places in the immediate vicinity of my office building. At first I didn’t really like the idea of that, but then I looked at it as a new adventure. I love experiencing new things, especially with the hubs, so why should living in a new part of town be any different? It’s all unfamiliar anyway until you get used to it.

I have to say, from the little bit of exploring I’ve already done, I can tell I’m going to like it out here. There are a ton of lakes out here, which I had no idea existed. In fact, our house is so close to a lake that I’ve been taking Casey there to walk around the shore on these beautiful days we’ve been having. She loves being so close to the water {and staring at the ducks}. Our neighborhood is really active – people are always running, cycling, walking, you name it. There’s also a huge wildlife reserve not far from us, which I also had no idea existed. You can walk the trails, fish, hunt, and bike. Pretty cool, huh?

As if I wasn’t excited enough to explore our new city, we just got the local magazine in the mail yesterday and it talks about TONS of events and classes that are coming up this spring and summer. I’m talking music festivals, outdoor movies, nighttime 5Ks, dance lessons, music classes…seriously, TONS of stuff. I put a few things on my calendar already.

All in all, hubs and I are extremely happy with our new neighborhood, and we love our new house. It already feels like home! The buying process may have been stressful, but I’m happy to report that it was all worth it. Now if we could just get everything unpacked so we can start exploring more of the community!

One last thing…I have to give a quick shout out to all of our family and friends who helped us move. From helping us physically move things, to putting furniture together, to making sure we stayed fed and hydrated, y’all were truly lifesavers and we’re so grateful! We love ya!

11024657_10204627334216634_8187865059079772431_n

One thought on “Toto, We’re Not in Kansas Anymore…

  1. Pingback: Unplugged | I Heart All

Leave a Reply

